PDA

View Full Version : SEARCH button



New VODA user
06-25-2010, 01:23 PM
Hi,

How can I include in my pages a "search" button and make it work ?

I need my customers to be able to look an specific item using this function.

Thank you all !

WSBlue
06-25-2010, 07:00 PM
you may try freefind.com

New VODA user
06-25-2010, 08:02 PM
Thank you ! I'll try to find a solution on that site.

zuriatman
06-26-2010, 05:17 PM
A simple way is to use the BV "Go Menu."

You can enter the names of the product, articles or webpages to link to.

New VODA user
06-28-2010, 12:29 PM
A simple way is to use the BV "Go Menu."

You can enter the names of the product, articles or webpages to link to.


This is what I though too, but in order to make it "usable" I will need to link manually to each product, is that right?

While a classic search button is easier to set up.

What about using Wordpress? I think there we can settle a classic search button, could someone confirm?

Thanks !

lancecarr
07-11-2010, 04:26 AM
The real problem is that adding a button marked "Search" doesn't do anything! What is needed is a program that will actually DO the search.

You asked about Wordpress. If you change your site to a Wordpress blog the internal search function of it is pretty weak. However you can go to Lijit.com and sign up for a free account there.

Once you have done that you can tailor your own little search engine to only fetch results from your own website/s.

They then provide you with a widget that you can insert quite easily on your Wordpress blog (self hosted) to replace the inbuilt Wordpress search function.

New VODA user
07-13-2010, 03:51 PM
Thanks lancecarr ! I hope is better that the other proposals.