PDA

View Full Version : Background to auto adjust to any screen size



sagasu44
07-01-2010, 05:43 AM
Hi,
I see this question has been asked in other threads but they have been closed so I need to start a new one, sorry.

I am rebuilding an old site. The required background is a series of coloured stripes, you can look at it here: http://greenpiper.com.au

The last web designer gave me an bitmap image for the background which when you open it is a thin strip that I assume is inserted into an area that reads a code and then when the page is opened the background will size itself according to the size of the screen it is being viewed in.

How do I do this?

Thanks

Sarah

zuriatman
07-01-2010, 06:09 AM
Hi Sarah,

View your webpage with Fire Fox.
Right click the background and select "View background image"

Then "save image as" into your BV image folder.

Insert the image as your background in BV.

navaldesign
07-01-2010, 06:21 AM
I see you have solved the issue.

I assume it had to do with the background Repeat Vertically instruction ?

sagasu44
07-01-2010, 08:21 AM
Thanks zuriatman, but even then I still get the very thin image, not a large flat one.

'Background Repeat Vertically' sounds like what I am talking about, can you advise me on this navaldesign?

Cheers

Sarah

navaldesign
07-01-2010, 12:00 PM
But, you are already ok!

The image covers the entire screen as it is being repeated (horizontally and not vertically as I posted before)

sagasu44
07-01-2010, 12:46 PM
Hi navaldesign,

I think you think that the site I gave you is the one I am building which it isn't. The site I gave you is the existing site. It has been built by another person using different software.

I am now assigned with redesigning the site using bluevoda software. So I am starting with a blank canvas. My boss wants to keep the background in the current site. So how do I do that with a 'repeated vertical background' in bluevoda?

Hope you can help.

Thanks

Sarah

navaldesign
07-01-2010, 01:04 PM
Go In Page Properties
Set as Background image the one that you have been given
That's enough

sagasu44
07-01-2010, 01:09 PM
LOL, so simple, I didn't even look. Last time I used bluevoda there was no option to enter an image background. I just assumed because it was that 'repeater' thing that I needed to do something technical. WONDERFUL, thanks navaldesign :)

Sarah

zak138
07-08-2010, 02:14 PM
Love the website :)

sagasu44
08-16-2010, 12:38 PM
thanks Zak138, I haven't published the new one I am working on, it's much better, just fiddling around with tryiing to build a soho page first , arghhhh, lol.

desertmagic
08-21-2010, 12:51 AM
Does this work by adding the text or images that will auto adjust to any screen size meaning I wanted to add more information on my website will the page itself auto adjust just like the background that you were talking about?? I think I am a bit confused here.. if you look at my website.. arizonascorpions.org and at the bottom of the page the pictures was overlapping the background part which means I have to adjust it myself to the way it is or it can auto adjust itself???

navaldesign
08-21-2010, 01:27 AM
Does this work by adding the text or images that will auto adjust to any screen size meaning I wanted to add more information on my website will the page itself auto adjust just like the background that you were talking about?? I think I am a bit confused here.. if you look at my website.. arizonascorpions.org and at the bottom of the page the pictures was overlapping the background part which means I have to adjust it myself to the way it is or it can auto adjust itself???

No, this is valid only for background (set in Page Properties), not for shapes that you use as background