This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A php and a html index page

I recently modified my index page by adding a feedback section to it. This made it a php page. The problem is when someone trys to go to my site they end up at the html page which is out of date. I tried removing the feedback from my index page and publishing as a html page, but even though it publishes when I go to the index page I still get the old index page unless I specify .php what can I do to make sure people get to my latest index page?

Re: A php and a html index page

I am no expert, but this is what I have done in a similar situation.
    Open the FTP manager under Tools in Blue Voda.All the files from the BV folder on your C:drive will appear on the left. The right hand side will be blank. Click connect on the top left hand corner of the screen. All your uploaded files will then appear on the right hand of the screen. Look for the folder with your domain name on it. It should be right at the bottom of the list. Open it and locate the index.html file and delete > click disconnect and close FTP.
    Publish your new index page with php extention.
    There may be other ways?

Comment

Looking up on some notes, here is another way. This was posted on the Blue Voda Tips. Tricks and Shortcuts. "Stop Browser Caching" It explains all there.
      In a nut shell
      Right click on the page and open page HTML
      Hit the "Between Head Tag" and insert this code.

<META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma"CONTENT="NO-CACHE">

Suggest you add this to all your page, as it will refresh your updates 99% of the time without a problem

Comment

I'm no expert either but when I want to put a form field on my index page, I leave the index extention as it is and just insert an inline frame and make the referance page a .php

Comment

If there is an index.html page residing on your server SE's will open that and not the php version by default.
          You will have to remove the html version.