Help with fixed backgrounds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with fixed backgrounds

I'm very new with Blue Voda and I've been watching all the tutorials and while they are really helpful, I can't seem to find one on placing a fixed background with the center a different kind of background. Can you direct me to this info or help me, THANKS!

Re: Help with fixed backgrounds

There isn't a Tutorial on working with backgrounds or images probably because it is such a large subject (refining the editing of images, types, etc.) and simply using/inserting images is a pretty common skill with using Windows and all the other Social Media platforms and so on.

The "trick" to using images as a background to a website is simply making sure you are using the right size, so it displays not only in your system as you design it, but universally in other visitor monitors also.

I am currently developing a site of my own this very moment, and maybe you can help to "proof" it for me with respect on how the background is displaying .... http://www.LuxuryServicesGroup.com (After seeing the "reference points" in the tip below, you can report if the site is displaying evenly. yes?)

Since this site is 960 wide (the max for compliance), I needed to use an image that would display in all monitor resolutions (people are using pretty much 1024x768 nowadays, but many use higher due to larger and larger monitors - 1440, 1620, etc.), so I chose my background to be 1440 wide, careful to have "depth" for page length as well.

If the image you choose is not as larger (or larger) the the most common resolution, it will "tile" across the monitor (repeat, both horizontally and vertically) and make it useless for effect.

You have to design your pages with the knowledge that this is how things work and not freak when seeing things before they are allowed to display properly: you will note the "shift" from how it looks in the Blue Voda workpane to how it displays once published.