PDA

View Full Version : Facebook 'Like' icon issue



Debi
11-30-2010, 01:54 AM
Hi there, I've added the code for the FB Like button, (in the HTML box), and it shows up on the browser preview, but not on the published page. I have 'no cache' code installed, so I'm thinking that's not the problem. Would anyone have an idea what I may be missing?
Thanks in advance,
Debi

Vasili
11-30-2010, 03:14 AM
What site is it supposed to be on? I can take a look and maybe spot whatever it is.

In the meantime, double-check that you indeed pasted the entire code properly ... ususally there is a symbol, character, or string inadvertantly missed.

Hopefully, you copied the code onto a blank Notepad or Word document and saved it for futre refrence prior to using directly in your BV page. If not (and if you cannot spot the missing character), re-acquire the code and archive it, delete the earlier HTML box, and try again.

Debi
11-30-2010, 03:52 AM
Hi Vasili - Thanks for the reply. I got the code directly from Facebook's badges page using the link provided by BV here:
http://www.facebook.com/badges/?ref=pf
This is the code:
<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dboucher-photography.com%2F&amp;layout=standard&amp;show_faces=true &amp;width=450&amp;action=like&amp;colorscheme=light&amp;height =80" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" style="border:none; overflow:hidden; width:450px; height:80px;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>

And this is the code I put into the HTML box in BV:
<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FNatu reWildlifePhotographyDBoucher%3Fv%3Dinfo%23%21%2FN atureWildlifePhotographyDBoucher%3Fv%3Dwall&amp;layout =standard&amp;show_faces=true&amp;width=450&amp;action=like&amp;co lorscheme=light&amp;height=80" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" style="border:none; overflow:hidden; width:450px; height:80px;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>

Interestingly, I made a couple other minor changes to positioning of things in my banner that didn't show up after publishing either. (Now and then - I go to my website and see that things have gone wacky - font size was changed, for example... why does that happen?)

I will delete and retry, maybe that will solve the problem...
Here is the link to my site:

http://www.dboucher-photography.com/

I appreciate the help :)

I am looking at the code! It's not the same - Weeeeelllll - Maybe that's the problem, Huh? LOL
Retrying now!

Debi
11-30-2010, 04:07 AM
Vasili - I just retried with this code:

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FNatu reWildlifePhotographyDBoucher%3Fv%3Dinfo&amp;layout=st andard&amp;show_faces=true&amp;width=450&amp;action=like&amp;color scheme=light&amp;height=80" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" style="border:none; overflow:hidden; width:450px; height:80px;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>

It works perfectly in preview - but I save and publish, and it does not show up on the published page.

Debi
11-30-2010, 04:38 AM
file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/COMPAQ%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.png<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FNatu reWildlifePhotographyDBoucher%3Fv%3Dinfo&amp;layout=st andard&amp;show_faces=true&amp;width=450&amp;action=like&amp;color scheme=light&amp;height=80" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" style="border:none; overflow:hidden; width:450px; height:80px;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>

Before I post this reply, as I look at the code above, there are no gaps in the code. For example, there is no gap in the word 'layout', as there is in the code I posted in the last reply which reads 'layou t'
So the code in the HTML box is as it should be, as far as that goes. For some reason, after I hit the reply button here, the gaps appear.... as in the word 'action' above.

Vasili
11-30-2010, 09:59 AM
This is not valid coding ... it looks like it was taken from page source during Preview.

Note the "%" symbols everywhere ... these are spaces in titles and page styles.

Unless you are getting the code after being generated by Facebook directly, it is not valid and will not perform.

Debi
11-30-2010, 03:04 PM
This is the link to the FB page where I got the code:
http://developers.facebook.com/docs/reference/plugins/like
Why does it work in the Browser Preview, but not when published? I would think invalid code would not work anywhere.... I'm SO confused! LOL

Alien Dude
11-30-2010, 04:07 PM
Have you published to the place as this site http://www.dboucher-photography.com/ has not got it.

But if you go to your other site
http://www.realestateshowcase.memoriesdvds.com/ oh there it is ha ha.

i believe you may of published to the wrong site. oooops

republish to right place then republish the index for the other site.

Debi
11-30-2010, 04:29 PM
OMG! Talk about brain dead....Yes, indeed that was the issue! All fixed now!
Thanks so much :)
Debi

Vasili
11-30-2010, 05:05 PM
What site is it supposed to be on? I can take a look and maybe spot whatever it is.I should devote more time into investigating, I suppose, rather than move about so quickly? http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon12.gif