PDA

View Full Version : Blank screen after publishing??



Girlonthehill
04-10-2006, 08:45 PM
I have built a new site and bought a new domain name. I have forwarded my new domainname to my VH sub-domain which I created in C-Panel. All done before - all worked fine. Now I have published my new site, it is showing in the correct dorectory in my C-Panel File Manager BUT when I go to look at my new site - all I get is a blank screen. Even though the browser says 'done'. Although the whizzy round arrows on the tab don't stop so it seems like it is still loading but nothing appears. Have I made a boo boo and forgotten some important step?

I'm still recovering from the last 'bald' episode so any help would be gratefully received.

Thanks. http://www.rhyme-in-time.co.uk

Girlonthehill
04-10-2006, 09:40 PM
Just to add that I have double checked my forwarding with my domain name c-panel and they are correct. I have double checked spellings and file names and they are all correct. I am really stumped here.

Girlonthehill
04-11-2006, 01:03 AM
Further to the above - I deleted the sub-domain and all the files and started all over again. I published all pages from scratch again. I still can't access my new site :o( I opened a support ticket a few hours ago so I'll wait and see if they have any ideas.

racefan20
04-11-2006, 02:01 AM
I got a page not found error, Amanda.


Have you tried making a sacrifice to the internet gods?

Girlonthehill
04-11-2006, 02:11 AM
I got a page not found error, Amanda.


Have you tried making a sacrifice to the internet gods?

LMAO. You crack me up. Thanks for making me laugh. Not made a sacrifice yet but have been dancin naked in the hail! Lol. Maybe that's the problem ;o)

Watch this space.

Nyoman
04-11-2006, 02:26 AM
did you change the DNS? i see your dns is pointed to another server. check here (http://whois.domaintools.com/rhyme-in-time.co.uk)

racefan20
04-11-2006, 02:51 AM
LMAO. You crack me up. Thanks for making me laugh. Not made a sacrifice yet but have been dancin naked in the hail! Lol. Maybe that's the problem ;o)

Watch this space.

A sacrifice is the best solution to your problem, but if it fails, try Nyoman's little dns trick there. LOL

navaldesign
04-11-2006, 05:56 AM
Click on www.girlonthehill.co.uk/rhyme-in-time/index.html (http://www.girlonthehill.co.uk/rhyme-in-time/index.html) Your page is there, published. It most probably is a servernames problem as Nyo suggested

Girlonthehill
04-11-2006, 08:03 AM
Mmmm. Thanks guys. I have forwarded my domain so will go back and check with the domain suppliers and see about setting the DNS myself :o)

Girlonthehill
04-11-2006, 05:46 PM
Update. Have changed the DNS to ns3 and ns4. I am now waiting for the changes to propogate. Although I don't understand why I had to do this for this domain when a simple forwarding worked for the others. That, of course, is not a VH problem and I am adding this so others may learn from it too.

navaldesign
04-11-2006, 05:53 PM
Hi Amanda

forwarding, even if it has worked for the rest of your sites, is BAD for SE. So if you have the opportunity, change the nameservers also for the rest of your sites (one at a time)

Girlonthehill
04-11-2006, 07:41 PM
Hi Amanda

forwarding, even if it has worked for the rest of your sites, is BAD for SE. So if you have the opportunity, change the nameservers also for the rest of your sites (one at a time)

Thank you Naval. I didn't know that and will start putting it right immediately. You are an absolute mine of useful information my friend.

Thanks to your navigation link earlier today I found out that the nav bar identity crisis was back again in this new site. It has forewarned me and allowed me to add an i-frame therefore beating the little perisher!

So lots of thank yous today!

Bethers
04-11-2006, 11:00 PM
To further what Naval said - you want to forward a domain that has nothing on it but you want to have the proper nameservers to your published accounts.

In other words - if you simply buy a domain because it's similar to your name and you think people might type it in by mistake, that is when you'd use forwarding - so they would actually get to the site that is published.

Girlonthehill
04-11-2006, 11:15 PM
Okay. I get it. We never stop learning! If we learned it all in one go we would end up like Col. O'Niell when he gets his head sucked by that ancient head sucking device!

Thanks for that Bethers.

Girlonthehill
04-12-2006, 07:55 PM
Update. I have four out of five sites floating around the ethernet - I hope they can find their way home soon. I'm missing them and I'm getting really bored! Lol. Have checked with WHOIS and they are showing ns3 and ns4 now but still can't see them. Propogation is a painful waiting game :o( I hope I've done it correctly. Yikes >:o0

navaldesign
04-12-2006, 07:59 PM
Hi Amanda, did you add them as addondomains in your account?

Girlonthehill
04-12-2006, 08:09 PM
Hi Amanda, did you add them as addondomains in your account?

Oh golly. I didn't even think about that as I thought the sixty day thingy came into play. Thanks G, what would we do without you. I'm off to CP. Life was so simple two days ago..... LoL.

Thanks my friend.

Girlonthehill
04-12-2006, 08:43 PM
Thanks Naval and everyone. Got my sites back. Teamwork! I just love it when a plan comes together.

http://www.girlonthehill.co.uk/sunflowers.jpg
Amanda :o)