PDA

View Full Version : "Correcting a HTTP 404 Not Found" error



bill2006
05-13-2006, 02:34 AM
Hi,
I have published 3 pages Home-Contact-About Tea. I can open the first or Home page but when I click Contact or About Tea get "HTTP 404 not found"
I have published both of these from BV.
How can I correct this?

Thanks, Bill

Andy128
05-13-2006, 02:50 AM
Greetings Bill-

Your site is:
http://www.blueearthtea.com/

Couple questions: you did publish each page to the public_html folder?

What are the exact names of each page? Contact or contact? About Tea or abouttea or About_Tea?

The home page you have named index and it is working as I was able to pull up your site.

So make sure your links match exactly the name of your pages. I suggest that you connect via the FTP Manager and make sure your pages are there.

Andy

Andy128
05-13-2006, 03:03 AM
Bill,

Doing a little experimenting I found our pages.

You named the contact page: contact us and the other about tea

So if you were to provide a link it would be as follows;
http://www.blueearthtea.com/contact_us.html **making sure to put the underscore _ between words as a space
http://www.blueearthtea.com/about_tea.html

Also, noticed on the source code of your form that your check boxes are not named. If they don't have a
specific (and different) name to each - it will not be reported to you.

Cheers,

Andy-
**By the way- the site looks really nice

bill2006
05-13-2006, 03:25 AM
Thank you Andy,
Changing the links worked fine from the Home page.

Appreciate the feedback on site. Bill

bill2006
05-13-2006, 03:39 AM
The checked boxes have been named, thanks.

From "Home" or index page I can click on "Contact" and "About Tea", but from "Contact" I can only click on "Home", if I click on "About Tea" the HTTP 404 error pops up again.

This doesn't happen from "About Tea" clicking on "Contact" did i overlook something?

Bill

Andy128
05-13-2006, 04:06 AM
Bill-

I can connect from one to the other in all combinations with no problem.

Perhaps you need to refresh your browser. Hit the F5 key repeatedly a number of times to re-fresh or simply delete your temp internet files.

Looks good though! Post it in the website preview section when your ready.

Cheers-

Andy