PDA

View Full Version : I need Form HELP!



Krindone
06-07-2006, 04:50 PM
Hello,

I post this only because I think the Customer Support is getting sick of me :)

I have a form on my website where clients can "Request A Quote" from us regarding materials. I have followed ALL tutorials and more, and when the Submit button is pressed, an Internet Explorer screen pops up saying:
"This form is being submitted by email. Submitting this form will reveal your email address to the recipient and will send the form data without encrypting it for privacy. Would you still like to continue? (I'm paraphrasing) "
I have tried setting the form up with all of the 3 different encrypting types, but it still does it. My problem is that I deal with the government. If my customers (Navy, Army, DoD) see this message, they will think that their privacy is in jeopardy. Is there a way to get it off????

Also, the first line of my Item Name/Description etc only holds 6 letters, but the others can hold any amount, what am I doing wrong?...I'm going nuts here!!! :)

Check out my page and be afraid to play around with it
www.alliednavalsuppliers.com

Watdaflip
06-07-2006, 06:40 PM
The reason its saying that is probably because your form action is an email address. The way to make this secure is to have the form action a php file that contains a script that will send the email and will check the fields.

Im guessing the reson the Item Name/Description only holds 6 letters is because you set the maxlength to 6, delete that out.

Andy128
06-07-2006, 08:28 PM
The form you wish to set up is a php mailto form which you can find initial instructions here.
http://netisopen.com/computer/TF001/T001.html

The one with field validation his here:
http://netisopen.com/computer/TF005/T005.html

** For now- make sure to set a reasonable field Max Length in each
field (name, email , address etc.....) I plan to have tutorial completed this weekend that will address the recent security concerns with forms on the internet. I will attach to each of the above tutorials. However- you should set up a form using either method to get familiar with it.

Post back to let us know how it goes and if you have any questions.

Andy

Krindone
06-08-2006, 02:47 PM
Hello,
I'm following the tutorial on how to set up the php, but I'm stuck in the beginning. I currently have an email address that is associated with my website and I'm trying to forward it to an account I have with Hotmail. I've tried testing all of the emails etc. but it doesn't seem to be forwarding anything. I'm not sure what to do next. Possibly take a vacation from this? :)

navaldesign
06-08-2006, 04:30 PM
Do not forward. You don't need to. The new security pollicy of Vodahost allows for the email to be sent also to external email addresses, limiting only the number of emails that can be sent . So you simply need to put that email address in your script. Just follow Andy's tutorial and you will be ok. If not, post back and i'll see what i can do, or, if you want a proffessional script at low cost, click on Watdaflip's signature Form Scripting Service (http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/free-classifeds/8122-form-scripting-service.html) and use his services to solve your problem in 24 hours.

However, your form needs some adjustments. Rename the fields, as you have left the default T1 name on all of them.

Krindone
06-08-2006, 06:52 PM
First, I just want to thank all of you guys for the help. I really appreciate it. Can ya tell this is my first time developing a website?? :)

I followed all of the instructions, and everything LOOKS correct, however I have a problem when I actually receive the form in my email. When I open it up, all of the information it shows is:

Values submitted from web site form:
T1 :
Submit : Submit
S1 :


Everything works fine when sending it etc.. Now I just have to fix this and I think I'll be "good to go..." :)

Kristin

davidundalicia
06-08-2006, 08:40 PM
Have you followed navals advice and andy´s tutorial in so far as naming your fields ?????

navaldesign
06-09-2006, 05:49 AM
You get the T! and S1 because your fields are named so. Go back in your form in BV, double click on EACH field, and give it his actual name, f.e. Name, Last Name, Address, Telephone, and so on. Otherwise, if all the fields have the same name, T1, each field's value will overide the previous one, and you will only get one value for all the fields called T1.

Krindone
06-09-2006, 12:56 PM
Yes I have named my fields.

navaldesign
06-09-2006, 02:08 PM
Field names must be unique. You cant have 5 fileds named "Item", 5 named "Part#" and 5 "Quantity". Name them "Item1", "Item2" and so on, then "Item1Part#", "Item2Part#", and so on, and "Quantity1", ..........

davidundalicia
06-09-2006, 02:12 PM
Krindone:

Most of your fields will work ok now but your item, part and quantity
fields all have the same name.

If you change the names ie. item1, item2 etc.
part1, part2 and so on your form should work ok.....

I would also suggest that you verify some of the important fields after you have a working form.

davidundalicia
06-09-2006, 02:15 PM
oopss - two minds alike..............

Krindone
06-09-2006, 02:29 PM
Done!

Do you think anything more needs to be done?

Krindone
06-09-2006, 02:37 PM
One more thing...

I've had multiple people view my website. Some people say that it looks fine, while others say that somethings are off center (when I know they're not). Is it the because of different browsers? Just curious.

navaldesign
06-09-2006, 02:58 PM
I can't see anything off center. Your entire pages though are not centered. And there is a strange thing: in some pages, under your header, there is another image (another header) . I can see that it exceeds the main header for 3 - 5 mm to the right.

navaldesign
06-09-2006, 02:59 PM
f your form still doesn't work, post your script here.

VodaHost
06-09-2006, 08:34 PM
click the below...

http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/forms/8220-form-maker-pro.html