Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building my first website

Hi Everyone,
    As a newbie, I'm having a few problems, but overall wanted to post my home page to see what you guys think so far. Plan on getting everything launched for next week.
    Any general ideas about presentation, good or bad would be appreciated....

Thanks,
    Brenda

Untitled Page

Re: Building my first website

Brenda- you are off to a great start. I like your layout. I do have some suggestions though.

1. Make the page width 800 wide. People really get turned off trying to scroll from side to side. To see this yourself- set your monitors display properties to 800X600 and you will see what I mean.

2. Re-size your pictures. Just one was 3.2 megabytes. Your dial-up customers will wait for ever for the page to load. Here is a picture display tutorial to help http: //netisopen.com/computer/PICT001/PT001.html

3. The Title in the middle has yellow text with a white back ground- remove the white background as it is very difficult to read.

Do these things and you will look top notch!!!

Keep up the good work. Can't wait to see the finished product.

Andy
    PHP- is a blast!

Comment

Thanks Andy.
      I have a full size 19" monitor and forget others don't...
      Also, I am stuck on that white background. It looks great in my layout page and I have background color set to automatic, same as my name, and yet every preview is back to white background...

Thanks again.

Comment

Hi Brenda,

I agree with Andy, but you have done a lot of work and you will get it done. Good work
        Sharon Chajin

Comment

Great work !
          Nice New England home. Will this market continue to grow?

Ditto Andy's comments, I would add naming or titles to your page. Right click on your page in BV Page Properties> General>Title, for example "Brenda Realty"

Good luck
          Bill
          www.blueearthtea.com
          www.ftaaconsulting.com
          www.iaval.com