Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

CSS menu shows extra text

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • CSS menu shows extra text

    I"m making a master menu using css but when viewed in FF I have
    [b][b/] showing on the screen (or something very similar - it's almost hidden.
    I have added
    <?php
    include 'menu.html';
    ?>

    to in the Before Tag on each page.
    What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks

    Jerry

    Great Adult Gag Gifts
    Rockdale, TX - Class of 1965
    Milam County Historical Commission


  • #2
    Re: CSS menu shows extra text

    Because you have copied and pasted this into your HEAD tags on page html

    [b]<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
    That is at the TOP of the html document and you somehow picked it up in your css menu too.

    Karen

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)


    Comment


    • #3
      Re: CSS menu shows extra text

      Karen,
      That is in the html of my page, but I don't believe I put it there. When I go into Page HTML I see it but it doesn't show under any of the tabs. and I don't know how to delete it. I opened a new page and that same thing shows in Page HTML before I do anything to the new page.
      This is what it reads:
      <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
      <html>
      <head>
      <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">
      <title>Untitled Page</title>
      <meta name="GENERATOR" content="Created by BlueVoda">
      </head>
      <body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000">
      </body>
      </html>
      How do I eliminate it? Or perhaps I should ask what I have messed up?
      Thanks
      Jerry

      Great Adult Gag Gifts
      Rockdale, TX - Class of 1965
      Milam County Historical Commission

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: CSS menu shows extra text

        well. .it looks like you viewed source and copied that snippet along with your css codes. Its on the page twice. If you did an external style sheet.. check in there to see if you somehow placed it in there.

        Its supposed to be on the BEGINNING of a page...check the text box where you bolded the heading and see if it got snapped in there. I think its in your menu php tho.. in the html box, or the include

        Karen

        VodaHost

        Your Website People!
        1-302-283-3777 North America / International
        02036089024 / United Kingdom
        291916438 / Australia

        ------------------------

        Top 3 Best Sellers

        Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

        Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

        Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)


        Comment


        • #5
          Re: CSS menu shows extra text

          I believe I have it.
          There were two guides on here for creating the 'one-menu* update (master menu?). One showed the code to be:
          [B]<?php
          include 'menu.html';
          ?>
          (well, it won't show here, but there was at the first and [b/] at the end

          and one showed
          <?php
          include 'menu.html';
          ?>

          I used the first one and that code generated the extra text. So I changed the code and I don't see it now. Whew!

          Thanks!



          Jerry

          Great Adult Gag Gifts
          Rockdale, TX - Class of 1965
          Milam County Historical Commission

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: CSS menu shows extra text

            awwwwww.. little hint.

            Get in the habit when copy and pasting from forums, web pages etc to first paste to notepad. Then you can see eroneous codes and remove them if they exist...most the time notepad renders the text only. Then copy and paste coding to your web builder.

            Karen

            VodaHost

            Your Website People!
            1-302-283-3777 North America / International
            02036089024 / United Kingdom
            291916438 / Australia

            ------------------------

            Top 3 Best Sellers

            Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

            Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

            Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)


            Comment


            • #7
              Re: CSS menu shows extra text

              You know, I normally do with I'm copying quite a bit of text but don't when it's simple and quick. But I will now.
              However, the problem remains that I probably wouldn't know if it was erroneous or not.
              But I keep chugging along.

              I have another question but I'll start a new thread.
              Thanks for the help.
              Jerry

              Great Adult Gag Gifts
              Rockdale, TX - Class of 1965
              Milam County Historical Commission

              Comment

              Working...
              X