Content and Improving Search Results

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Content and Improving Search Results

I've been working on my website for a couple of years trying to use the correct content on my pages to come up in google search for keywords. For example, the search term soy candles, I fluctuate between position 35-45. Can anyone make suggestions on how to increase my position. Would it be better if my page names were soy_candles.html vs soycandles.html? Do I need more content? I look at site that come up before mine and I don't see that much of a difference in content but I'm sure I'm missing the obvious.

Thank you,
    Brenda
    CT River Candles
    www.ctrivercandles.com
    Brenda
    www.ctrivercandles.com

Re: Content and Improving Search Results

That's a big question you're asking there :)

Search engine optimization can take a lot of careful research.
    A good tool you can use is here:
    https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal

Use this tool to find good keywords.

The term 'soy candles' might be hard to rank for, but there will lots of other related keywords that you can try to optimise for.

It's an ongoing process to find out what works best for your website.

Having good links going to your website also helps with ranking.

Comment

A lot of people dislike having to underscore an url and it is easier to remember soycandles,

In your tags for your index page enter everything about candles and anything that has to do with candles, red-candles, green-candles, candle-stand, candlabra, candles-for-intimate-dining, birthday-candles, anniversary-candles, candle-blog, candle-forum,.....etc,etc
      just add a 1001 other tags with candle and what surfers will type in a search box.

Another neat trick is to use the word candle or candles in foreign languages equivalent.

The title of your page is also important as it will appear in the search index list.