Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: domain name questions
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    I can NOT find any of the links you posted. Please check them and post again.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7

    Question Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Oh,Dear!!!

    I purchased a second domain name and am now trying to get it all set up so I can publish my site. When I went to VBS and tried to change the name servers to the ones from my original site, I received an error message that ns15.vodahost.com could not be used. ns16 worked okay. I tried twice and got the same message. Also, the tutorial said to make sure the name servers were correct in Vodahost Domains, so I went there and had to register, and they have no domains listed for me. I'm confused.

    Betsy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    VodaHost domains will have your domain name only if you have bought it independently, from VodaHost domains. Normally it should be in VBS. As for the error please try again, it must have been just a temporary system hault.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    vancouver bc
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    HELPPPPPPPPPP
    I am getting so frustrated at trying to get this second domain up and running, I have watched the video over and over and printed everything out as well and just dont get what to do.
    My original domain is www.maxwell-j.ca
    I am trying to create www.rhinestonephoenixcharityfoundation.ca
    (which has been authorized and approved)
    in the control pannel I just dont know exactly what to put into the 2 boxs
    new addon
    user name
    p/w i can create a p/w
    when I try to publish into public_html/site2 i get error 550
    i have tried every way to write this as only site2.ca like your example with
    my new domain with site 2 before and after...nothing works...someone plse help me as i have to get this site up and operating
    thanks
    A very thankfull newbie
    max

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,317

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Site2 is an example. Yours would be;

    public_html/rhinestonephoenixcharityfoundation


    Andy
    PS- you add-on is recognized, all you have to do is publish the index page.
    PHP- is a blast!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    vancouver bc
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    I have just tried that public_html/rhinestone.........
    but get error 550 that the directory to public_html/rhinestone....no file or directory.....what the heck am I supposed to do here, getting very very
    frustrated with setting up this new site...I need to have a part of it up and running.

    thanks Max

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Sorry, but i don't understand. Your main domain, www.maxwell-j.ca and www.rhinestonephoenixcharityfoundation.ca are not hosted on the same account. So the new domain has it's own account (or it is an addon on a third, not mentioned here domain).

    www.rhinestonephoenixcharityfoundation.ca is hosted on Voda 11
    (nameservers ns19.vodahost.com and ns20.vodahost.com)
    whilst www.maxwell-j.ca is hosted on Voda 4 (nameservers ns5.vodahost.com and ns6.vodahost.com)

    Since www.rhinestonephoenixcharityfoundation.ca is alive (click on it to verify) i assume that this is not a mistaken DNS setup, but you have purchased a new account. If things are indeed so, this new domain has it's own IP address and it's own username/password, that are in the welcome mail that VH must have sent you. You DON'T need to and you CAN'T publish in the www.maxwell-j.ca account. You must publish directly in it's own account, using, as said above, the IP, username and password sent to you by VH.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    vancouver bc
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    This is what I am trying to do. I want it on its own not in my maxwell web site
    I went into my control panel for my original site maxwell-j and did the
    addon domain which is rhinestonephoenix......
    name...rhinestone.....
    where..site2
    pw...done
    when I try to save my index page under the ip address
    for rhinestone ip 74.52.137.210 , putin the username and p/w for rhinestone and save to public_html/site 2
    first is says invalid p/w and this is not the first time i have had trouble
    with the username and p/w for this account, and also not created
    so do not know what I am doing wrong
    or should I just be treating it as a new account and not create an addon domain
    so confused...t
    Max

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Max, you have an INDEPEDENT account for www.rhinestonephoenixcharityfoundation.ca . Otherwise, why does it show me that it is hosted on Voda 11 whilst your www.maxwell-j.ca is hosted on Voda 4 ? This is NOT an addon domain, this is by all means an independent domain. If iy has it's own account, you treat it as a new account, and you don't create an addon. Just publish, the same way as you do for www.maxwell-j.ca , but using the IP, username and password provided by VH for this new account. Publish in the "public_html" folder of this new account.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    4

    Question Re: Set up

    I received my welcome letter, went to My site, my domain name, its there, I click on it, it brings up my domain bloomingtailsdogboutique.net, I click on that, all my acct info is there...click on change serves, there are two server numbers there.

    Thats as far as I get.

    When I go back to the pages with the ip addresses, this is where I get lost. I click on that and it takes me to Ocommerce (or whatever it is called) and they ask me to sign in there. My log on and password do not work.

    I was thinking Blue voda was very user friendly when I used the demo...now I am really lost!

    Carol
    Carol
    Bloomingtails
    www.bloomingtailsdogboutique.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Ok, if this is the free domain name you have got with your account, there is no need to change the nameservers, they are already setup correctly.

    What pages with the IP address? You simply create your pages in BV, then you publish them. After clicking on publish, a dialog box will appear. There is a drop down menu list box there: select your IP (the same that VH has sent you in your welcome mail), enter your username and password (those of your welcome mail). Make sure the lower field, "Folder" has "public_html" in it, and click on publish. That's all. Remember, your first page must be saved as "index" all lowercase chrs.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30

    Smile Re: Adding additional domain names to our website I need help!

    Hi!

    I have successfully published my first website using Blue Vodaand its been a good experience.

    Now to my question. I have other domains i had purchased with another registrar. I have changed the nameservers there to the one I have at vodahost. The first thing I did was used cPanel and parked the domain. Then i decided the addondomain route was best and tried doing addon through cPanel . There was an error saying parked wrapper. Then I went and removed the parked domain. I was still unable to do the addondomain.

    I found that I was unable to delete the folder of my new subdomains from my file manager. Therefore i renamed my folders. I retried doing an add on domain I still get the same error which is " Error from park wrapper: eecareer.com is owned by another user". I am the registered user of both the new domain and the domain with vodahost. I need help desperately.

    Its now more than 48 hours since I changed the nameservers but I still have the same problem. However I read on the support forum that if you try www.firstsite.com/secondsite it should work and it did work.However www.secondsite.com does not work.

    I have waited two days and have read the support forum before stepping up to ask for help. But this help would be greatly appreciated and I know I am missing something

    Thanks

    www.eehomework.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    The procedure is unique: you first unpark, then you add it as addon. If it didn't let you unpark it at a first time, try again. It might have been a temporary database conflict. Has happened to me also in the past.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30

    Question Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Thanks for your prompt reply. I did try to unpark, but it does not show any domain as parked but I still get the park wrapper error. You could access my cPanel if needed to check the status.

    Jolie
    www.eehomework.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    I need your login details to do so. If you wish me to, use myform to send these details. Please also send me the addon domain name, so i can add it.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30

    Smile Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Thanks a million for this offer. I have just sent you the form. Thanks again. I really, really appreciate this help.

    Jolie

    www.eehomework.com

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Please send again the details at info + navaldesign.it replacing + with @. You got me in the middle of a server migration and my email account related to the form doesn't work.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30

    Smile Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    I just sent it
    .
    Jolie

    www.eehomework.com

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Ok, received, looking
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Nothing to do, there must be something wrong in the wrapper database. Please submit a support ticket with indication: critical explaining the problem and asking the help desk to solve the problem and add the eecareer.com as addon domain. Sorry i couldn't do more.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30

    Smile Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    Thanks! I will submit a support ticket.

    Jolie


    www.eehomework.com

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30

    Talking Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    I submitted a support ticket as advised and the issue was resolved . i am in business. Thanks Naval design for all your help!


    Jolie
    www.eehomework.com

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Gosport , Hampshire , UK
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    hi think i read to many items in this forum now confussed my self.

    i want a second site with its own domain name but not sure where to put it on my hosting package.

    I have an account already with one domain the second domain i want seperate from the first . Do i need to park the domain or addon the domain

    i.e www.siteone.co.uk

    www.sitetwo.co.uk


    thanks graham

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,317

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    You can purchase the second domain name from Voda Host Domains at;
    www.vodahostdomains.com

    I would wait 72 hours then create an add-on domain in your cpanel using the that domain name. There are video tutorials on how to do this in the cpanel section.

    Then simply make sure your domain at voda host domains points to the correct voda host servers.

    That should do it.

    Andy
    PHP- is a blast!

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Gosport , Hampshire , UK
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    sorry i was not clear in my last posting

    what i ment to ask is what is the diffrence between

    parking a domain

    and adding a domain?

    thank graham

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,317

    Default Re: Adding additional domain names to our website

    This thread will explain that:
    http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/dom...domain+parking

    Cheers,

    Andy
    PHP- is a blast!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •