Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Spell Check
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    134

    Default Spell Check

    Would it be possible to incorporate a spell check into the program? It's not too much of a big deal copying and pasting from MS Word, just a thought though!
    Sincerely, Farmboyzim
    www.farmboyzimsflightsims.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Posts
    513

    Default

    good idea!

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    27

    Thumbs up

    I definitely second this big time!


    How come it has not been implemented way earlier?

    jason =)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    507

    Default

    The only reason why it's currently not implemented in BlueVoda is due to license restrictions. You can't just grab a spell dictionary and add it to your application without paying big money for it. Would it be worth it?
    Forum Moderator
    BlueVoda Spe******t

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    27

    Cool

    well vodahost is a pretty big company and something like spell check is usually thought to come with such a good program.


    but ok!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Milwaukie, OR
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Spell Check

    Right on! I'm new to this but that spell checker was about the first thing I missed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: Spell Check

    I got my site spell checked at http://www.doctor-html.com Also an analysis of the site, loading speed, picture sizes etc. Google it and see if it works for you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Spell Check

    Hello,

    having a spell checker built into the program would be a big benefit. I don't really need a big and expensive dictionary. Maybe you could include one of the public domain spell checkers available or at least create an interface, if there is a license issue.

    Examples can be found on

    http://directory.fsf.org/text/wordproc/

    or

    http://www.speling.org/

    Why can't you use the one which is built into this web page software ?

    Ansgar

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Concord, NC
    Posts
    2,335

    Default Re: Spell Check

    And then there's always the thought of taking time to PROOF READ what you've written before publishing. But I suppose that would cut into the time to post here looking for shortcuts.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
    Posts
    8,702

    Default Re: Spell Check

    Hi all,
    I find getting into the habit of typing everything in MS word, then cutting & pasting it in works well. You will get your grammar checked as well. But I must admit a spell checker would save loads of aggravation.

    Cheers

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SPAIN
    Posts
    182

    Default Re: Spell Check

    Hello
    If its a multi language even better for those of whos pages are not anglo spoken

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Spell Check

    Quote Originally Posted by ddstiles
    I got my site spell checked at http://www.doctor-html.com Also an analysis of the site, loading speed, picture sizes etc. Google it and see if it works for you.
    I love when people put such valuable information on this form

  13. #13
    Bethers's Avatar
    Bethers is offline Major General & Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5,224

    Default Re: Spell Check

    If you use the Google tool bar - it has a spell check feature that can check your pages for you also.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Spell Check

    google tool bar on your browser?

  15. #15
    Bethers's Avatar
    Bethers is offline Major General & Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5,224

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    North Idaho/ Middle of nowhere
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Spell Check

    Quote Originally Posted by narobe
    Hello
    If its a multi language even better for those of whos pages are not anglo spoken
    I have to agree with this which version of 'english' will it check.

  17. #17
    Bethers's Avatar
    Bethers is offline Major General & Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5,224

    Default Re: Spell Check

    It is multi-language, you select which language you want it to check. I'm going to guess it will be checking Americanized English - but don't know for sure there. The differences would be easy to spot. I just typed personalise in here and clicked to have it check and it accepted it - so maybe if it's a valid English word from either side of the Atlantic is accepts it.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    14,683

    Smile Re: Spell Check

    I agree also....it was one of the most basic features I missed when new to BV.
    And no, proof reading is not always the best solution. Most of us cannot find mistakes when not familiar with certain spellings or grammatical leanings.
    The mentioned html tool is a great hint, but it won't become a universal solution to all skill levels unless embedded.
    And, about the money issue.....SYSTRAN has not only the most universally accepted (systems, users, etc.) translators -- even *** versions, so it IS really applicable -- but comes with updated dictionaries and other tools. The cost to include this in BV versions by license should be quite low (depending on negotiating skills, of course) especially if on a 'trial basis' to measure effectiveness with improvements going back to SYSTRAN as proprietary developments usable elsewhere.

    Just a thought....
    >>I still will have to use the online tool Lt."D" mentioned, or even the flip-flop method using Word (which I didn't even think about, since I composed directly into BV).
    . VodaWebs....Luxury Group
    * Success Is Potential Realized *

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. How do you check a cron command line
    By Charles55 in forum General Support Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-21-2005, 12:13 AM
  2. How Often do you Check Your Affiliate Statistics?
    By VodaBot in forum eBusiness and Concept Development Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2005, 12:48 PM
  3. Okay... please check my site
    By Julie S. in forum Customer Website Reviews - Your Testing Ground
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-13-2005, 07:21 PM
  4. Site Updated! Check it out...
    By wesj in forum Customer Website Reviews - Your Testing Ground
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 03:42 AM
  5. W0w Check This Out!!! Hahaha
    By Robert in forum The Voda Lounge (Chit Chat)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-09-2005, 06:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •