Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Another sub domain question
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    33

    Cool Another sub domain question

    I've watched the video and still can't seem to get it right. Is there any other info out there to assist with setting up a sub domain? Did anyone else have problems doing this, or is it my usual computer retardation showing up? I hope maybe someone else had a little trouble at first and then got it right....and can help me out.
    Thanks!

    Ronda

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    172

    Post

    It seems I've missed part of this conversation but I didn't quite understand whether you needed advice on how to create a subdomain or an add-on domain.

    Please elaborate.
    Ruth

    http://www.okose.com
    Professional Web design/development and Graphic Design

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    19

    Default subdomain

    Login to Cpanel
    Go to Subdomains
    Create the first part of teh subdomain you want.

    After it is created setup a redirect to a folder in your domians public_html directory.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    19

    Default I finally totally understand

    Quote Originally Posted by midatlanticweather
    Login to Cpanel
    Go to Subdomains
    Create the first part of teh subdomain you want.

    After it is created setup a redirect to a folder in your domians public_html directory.
    Or find the folder that this created in the Public_html folder.

    I finally understand it completely myself!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    33

    Question

    everytime i try to create another add on domain....it says it "is not a valid name". I created a new folder in public_html folder and named it "website2" using my web site name as the root. the message says website2/website1 is not a valid name......
    any suggestions? thanks!

    i think i must be missing an entire step in the process somehow!





    Quote Originally Posted by midatlanticweather
    Or find the folder that this created in the Public_html folder.

    I finally understand it completely myself!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    33

    Default

    one more note. i am having an old, existing site sent to this DNS server. I guess that would be a subdomain right? guess you can tell i don't know what the hay i'm doing!! thanks for any help.







    Quote Originally Posted by rdensford
    everytime i try to create another add on domain....it says it "is not a valid name". I created a new folder in public_html folder and named it "website2" using my web site name as the root. the message says website2/website1 is not a valid name......
    any suggestions? thanks!

    i think i must be missing an entire step in the process somehow!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    172

    Post

    I think your best option is to delete the folders you manually created yourself.

    Transfer your existing domain to vodahost...please submit a support ticket if youre not too sure on how to do this.

    then once the transfer is complete make sure the domain status is registered with vodahost.

    Then go to your control panel and click on add-on domain see video tutorial if not too sure how to do this.
    when you follow the steps on how to create add-on domain, at some point it will ask you to put the name of the folder in which you want your web to be in and also the name of the domain e.g. yoursite as the folder and yoursite as the domain.

    Once these steps have been successfully carried out you should then go back to your control panel main menu then goto FTP Manager > FTP Accounts and check that your add-on domain is there if so then when you're uploading from this point make sure that you upload to the folder that you named under your public.html folder. e.g. public_html/yoursite/

    if after you visit this new add-on website and you see an error page then I suggest you raise a support ticket as it could be related to the fact that your domain was registered with another hosting co.

    Hope this makes sense.
    Ruth

    http://www.okose.com
    Professional Web design/development and Graphic Design

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilmington, Delaware USA
    Posts
    12,313

    Default

    Please do not confuse an add-on domain with a sub domain, they are two entirely diffrent animals. Please click the link below to learn more about add-on domains.

    http://www.vodahost.com/DemoDemo/cpa...skin_addon.htm

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. a question about the add on domain tutorial
    By terryt in forum Microsoft Products
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-20-2005, 10:05 PM
  2. Another Domain Question - Please help
    By jolodrey in forum Domain names/DNS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2005, 04:24 AM
  3. domain question and VodaHost affiliate program question
    By WeirdWM in forum General Support Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-25-2005, 10:53 AM
  4. Domain question
    By kirsty in forum Web Hosting Pre-Sales
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 08:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •