Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: a question about loading oscommerce
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default a question about loading oscommerce

    Hi everyone - The first thing I would like to say is that this forum is pretty neat. Anything that helps is a positive step, and its great that you can get help/info from so many people.

    Anyway, I have a domain (not yet located here, presently on another server, but I plan to move it shortly). I would like to open a store, using oscommerce. - another member here has already pointed me to how this is done.

    My question is: Do I need to reserve/buy a domain name that matches my intended store name ? Or what do you guys recommend ? My existing domain/web site is called favoriteprojects.com, if that will help to explain any suggestions that you might have to offer.

    thanks in advance, terry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilmington, Delaware USA
    Posts
    12,273

    Default

    favoriteprojects.com sounds fine to me... Nice and short and easy to remember.

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default locating a store/sub domains

    Would someone be kind enough to explain how I could locate a new store in an existing domain ?

    Wouldn't I have to create a sub domain to locate the store in ? (Favoriteprojects is a web site that already exists) - I tried to upload oscommerce to it yesterday, and it went somewhere, but when I brought up favorite projects, all I got was my existing web site ???? So, I deleted os comm, so I could start over.

    While I'm at this, is there someone here that's good at naming domains and sub domains that I could maybe e-mail a few times with some questions ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Concord, NC
    Posts
    2,335

    Default

    Unless I'm totally misunderstanding what you're looking to do, all you have to do is add the name of the install directory to your url. For instance, when you install OS Commerce, you are asked to name the directory in which you want it installed. If you named it "store" for example, you would access it by going to yoursite.com/store.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default

    thanks for the info. I think that what you have suggested will work for me. I just realized that I haven't even moved my site into this hosting space yet, so maybe I should do that first and then work on one problem at a time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Concord, NC
    Posts
    2,335

    Default

    LOL It's always a good idea to place the horse in front of the cart.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. a question about the add on domain tutorial
    By terryt in forum Microsoft Products
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-20-2005, 10:05 PM
  2. osCommerce Images
    By Sarah in forum Scripts & Fantastico
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-26-2005, 04:24 PM
  3. I'm terribly sorry . . . Template question.
    By kakitayuri in forum BlueVoda - General Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2005, 09:44 AM
  4. Question about Unlimited Email
    By charlwillia6 in forum Web Hosting Pre-Sales
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-2005, 10:55 AM
  5. Page loading question
    By rdensford in forum BlueVoda - General Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2005, 07:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •