Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Creating a domain name
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Beijing/China
    Posts
    28

    Question Creating a domain name

    Hi There,

    I have 2 domain names, www.geemax.net and www.garod.org

    I want to buy a new domain name as an add on to one of the above domain names,

    if I do that can I use the new domain name as a separate website??
    and if so how can I do it?

    Thanks
    Gullekian

    If you fail to prepare, you are preparing to fail.

    www.geemax.net
    www.dikranandkelly.com
    www.bjvino.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
    Posts
    8,703

    Default Re: Creating a domain name

    Hi, yes! This is no problem, you can have as many addon/new sites as you wish, as long as you purchase the extra domains. Have a look through the tutorials at add on domains. When you purchase the new domain, don't forget to point it at the server that you are going to use for the add on domain.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Smile Re: Creating a domain name

    Hi Gullekian,

    An add-on Domain is a stand alone domain.

    It is a principal Domain by itself and does not need the aid of the
    other 2 domains that you had already.

    All it needs to operate is a hosting account which you already have with VodaHost.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Beijing/China
    Posts
    28

    Question Re: Creating a domain name

    Thanks Zuriatam,

    So if I understand correctly, let’s say I have www.geemax.com , then I can buy a new domain name for example, “abc.com” for 10 bucks and use it as a website??

    Then how do I publish my pages to “abc.com”? do I get a different ID and password and a different FTP manager to publish my pages??
    Gullekian

    If you fail to prepare, you are preparing to fail.

    www.geemax.net
    www.dikranandkelly.com
    www.bjvino.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    120

    Default Re: Creating a domain name

    Quote Originally Posted by Gullekian View Post
    Thanks Zuriatam,

    So if I understand correctly, let’s say I have www.geemax.com , then I can buy a new domain name for example, “abc.com” for 10 bucks and use it as a website??

    Then how do I publish my pages to “abc.com”? do I get a different ID and password and a different FTP manager to publish my pages??
    Hi, Add your new domain (bought for 10 bucks ..lol) in cpanel by using addon domain, then publish it as
    your own existing IP Address
    existing user name and password
    Folder: /public_html/abc.com/

    Please note: once you bought your domain you have to change your DNS name server to your existing vodahost DNS server.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Beijing/China
    Posts
    28

    Post Re: Creating a domain name

    Hi buystuffs,

    Actually I bought my existing domain name www.geemax.net from Voda host.

    I did what you said, I created a new domain name, (I was under the impression that I have to pay 10 bucks, but apparently it’s free) and I published 1 page under public_html/domainname.com, but it didn’t work.

    Maybe it will take time to be activated?? I don’t know…..
    I’ll see tomorrow.

    Thanks
    Gullekian

    If you fail to prepare, you are preparing to fail.

    www.geemax.net
    www.dikranandkelly.com
    www.bjvino.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,577

    Default Re: Creating a domain name

    You will publish to public_html/geemax.net
    Make sure that you created the add-on domain with the same name, basically just a new folder inside your public_html folder.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,527

    Default Re: Creating a domain name

    Quote Originally Posted by Gullekian View Post
    Hi buystuffs,

    Actually I bought my existing domain name www.geemax.net from Voda host.

    I did what you said, I created a new domain name, (I was under the impression that I have to pay 10 bucks, but apparently it’s free) and I published 1 page under public_html/domainname.com, but it didn’t work.

    Maybe it will take time to be activated?? I don’t know…..
    I’ll see tomorrow.

    Thanks

    Hi . just so you are clear .. a free domain is given to every new voda host customer when they purchase their web hosting account .. if you ordered your domain when you ordered your web hosting account then you did indeed get it free ...

    However, just adding a folder in your control panel under add on domains, does not give you a working domain ...you would need to have purchased this domain one way or the other .. adding this folder with this domain name in your control panel, is an "after the purchase of the domain" thing to do ..

    Now if you have made that purchase for this new domain from voda host, you will need to log into your vbs billing and change the domain name servers ...vbs billing can be found in your welcome email information, log in there, go to manage domains, find this domain, change the two name servers to the two name servers that you will also find in your voda host welcoming email.. once these are changed, and you have added the add on domain in your control panel and you publish a page, your domain will be live.

    P.S. - you may be confusing the $10.00 with an actual transfer of your domain - this would be if your domain resided with another domain registar, transferring a domain from another registrar to voda host is roughly this price, although free again with a new voda host account.l

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Beijing/China
    Posts
    28

    Thumbs up Re: Creating a domain name

    Quote Originally Posted by LadyEye View Post
    Hi . just so you are clear .. a free domain is given to every new voda host customer when they purchase their web hosting account .. if you ordered your domain when you ordered your web hosting account then you did indeed get it free ...

    However, just adding a folder in your control panel under add on domains, does not give you a working domain ...you would need to have purchased this domain one way or the other .. adding this folder with this domain name in your control panel, is an "after the purchase of the domain" thing to do ..

    Now if you have made that purchase for this new domain from voda host, you will need to log into your vbs billing and change the domain name servers ...vbs billing can be found in your welcome email information, log in there, go to manage domains, find this domain, change the two name servers to the two name servers that you will also find in your voda host welcoming email.. once these are changed, and you have added the add on domain in your control panel and you publish a page, your domain will be live.

    P.S. - you may be confusing the $10.00 with an actual transfer of your domain - this would be if your domain resided with another domain registar, transferring a domain from another registrar to voda host is roughly this price, although free again with a new voda host account.l
    Ok LadyEye, now I see,

    That's what I thought, nobody gives away free working domain names....

    Actually my domain name geemax.net I bought it sometimes in July 2008, and I didn't buy any additional domain name with it, it was my first time, I just wanted to try it...... now I am getting married and I wanted to make a website to send my wedding invitations.

    I was under the impression that I can open an add-on domain name under an existing one and create a new website, so it seems no......... The wedding website is just a temporary one, I don't need to renew it.

    I guess the best thing to do is to buy a new domain name for my wedding website and publish the pages it it........

    P.S. if adding a domain name in the control panel wouldn't give us a free working domain unless we had purchased it, then what is its purpose??

    Thanks a lot for your help
    Gullekian

    If you fail to prepare, you are preparing to fail.

    www.geemax.net
    www.dikranandkelly.com
    www.bjvino.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,577

    Default Re: Creating a domain name

    Quote Originally Posted by Gullekian View Post

    P.S. if adding a domain name in the control panel wouldn't give us a free working domain unless we had purchased it, then what is its purpose??

    Thanks a lot for your help
    Add-on domains allows you to have multiple sites on one account without having to pay for additional hosting. As long as you own the domain you can have as many as you like on your one VodaHost account.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •