Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    32

    Default If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Hi

    I have been building my website using Blue Voda and Vodahost for about a month and realized yesterday when I deleted a picture from my computer that it also took it off my website, which I assume means that my website recognizes my computer as a kind of server, is that right ? How can I protect myself and my website if my computer were to die. I assume if that happened all the data on my computer that linked to my website would be lost, like pictures, videos, pdf files etc How can I protect myself ?

    Thank You'

    Beachblue

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bristol UK
    Posts
    1,750

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    If an image has been published and you have since deleted it from your PC, I think you will find it is still on your website but will not display as you expect on the BV builder. Never a problem you can always work round it or reinsert the exact one back in.

    It is good practice to back up all your files to either

    1) CD/DVD
    2) USB memory Stick
    3) External Hard Drive

    If computer dies, buy a new one, download latest version of BV. Copy your BV files, images, pdfs etc etc. back into the bluevoda file and away you go.

    Darren
    Happy Building

    DarrenC

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Thanks Darren C

    If I back up all my blue voda files do I also have to go in to my picture files, pdf files etc that are linked to my website and copy those to the usb stick or by just backing up the Blue Voda files will that contain them ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bristol UK
    Posts
    1,750

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Everything to do with your website copy to your back up device. BV Pages, Images the lot.
    Happy Building

    DarrenC

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Spring Texas
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    This is weird as I just made a copy of everything, the entire BV file and copied on a usb. I installed BV on my wifes pc and then transferred all the files on to her pc in the same location as on mine. When you pull up an index on hers all the pictures are missing.

    I looked and all of the pictures are in the proper files ( so it seems).

    I actually did replace my hard drive a month ago and backed it all up on my pc prior to the new install and all worked fine.

    What am I doing wrong?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    That's exactly what I wondered would happen. I had hoped that the pictures I used from my general picture file would transfer in to the BV files but it seems they borrow them but don't copy them. I think I am going to put all the pics I use in a seperate folder and then put them on to a usb stick so if the worst happens I know where they are. Of course it is something that will have to be done regularly as the site is updated with new pictures etc. Murphy's Law says that the computer will crash not just after you have backed up all your files but when you are thinking it's time I backed up my files again !!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Spring Texas
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Seeing I got a whole new hardrive on this pc, it is like putting it on a brand new pc. It may have something to do with the bv I downloaded? I have a copy also on my memory stick and probably used it to reload bv.

    I save a copy remotely and on 2 different back ups as well. Another thing I am trying to figure out is if you update at home and you want to work on the site at the office, if you update a page and then at the office you have not and you upload it , it will be the old copy...

    So I would assume if you want to work remotely you would have to get pc anywhere and work on your site remotely?

    This is very important as I may need to do updates while on vacation.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Hi,

    First an answer to beachble's question
    when I deleted a picture from my computer that it also took it off my website,

    Should not happen. Your assumption is incorrect.
    Once you publish your page using BV, BlueVoda automatically converts whatever is on your webpage to html.
    There is no link whatsoever between your server and your pc as you assumed.

    To Kortia's Question on missing pics.

    It is a bad idea to design you website using different computers. From my experience is to stick to only one, and your pc is the best.

    To prevent missing pics open folders in C:\MyDocument\BlueVoda
    for your all your pics, images and photos seperately. Then copy all the pics and graphics that you want to use for your webpage to these folders and never move or borrow them for use elsewhere.

    Your BlueVoda folders are linked to your webpages you are creating with your BlueVoda websitebuilder. For as long as you do not move anything from the above folders you will not experience any missing items in your BlueVoda webpage when you open them.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Yea, it happen to me once because I upgraded from Vista to Windows 7 Beta. As usual, I download the BV Builder again on Windows 7 Beta. But I have missing pictures even I paste the original BV files back to my laptop after formating. However, I was lucky that I saved everything in my external HardDrive.

    So I open the BV files as usual double click it to it's properties and reload the pictures.

    Now I prepared a FOLDER solely for BV. All pictures/pdf/docx will be saved in there. If I am updating my site (eg; change of picture) I will copy the picture to that FOLDER first before I import the pictures to BV Builder. That way, whatever is in BV Builder, it's in my FOLDER.

    I also created SUB-FOLDER just like in BV Builder.

    FOLDER >> INDEX
    >> ABOUT US
    >> CONTACT US
    >> SUBSCRIBE

    and etc..... Do that so you'll never need to spend unnecessary time looking for pictures. (Actually, when you double click the pictures in BV Builder, it shows the location of that picture)

    Hope this helps....

    Regards,
    Foo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Spring Texas
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Quote Originally Posted by zuriatman View Post
    Hi,

    First an answer to beachble's question
    when I deleted a picture from my computer that it also took it off my website,

    Should not happen. Your assumption is incorrect.
    Once you publish your page using BV, BlueVoda automatically converts whatever is on your webpage to html.
    There is no link whatsoever between your server and your pc as you assumed.

    To Kortia's Question on missing pics.

    It is a bad idea to design you website using different computers. From my experience is to stick to only one, and your pc is the best.

    To prevent missing pics open folders in C:\MyDocument\BlueVoda
    for your all your pics, images and photos seperately. Then copy all the pics and graphics that you want to use for your webpage to these folders and never move or borrow them for use elsewhere.

    Your BlueVoda folders are linked to your webpages you are creating with your BlueVoda websitebuilder. For as long as you do not move anything from the above folders you will not experience any missing items in your BlueVoda webpage when you open them.



    Thank you so much for your reply.

    Me and my wife make money from the internet at home so we hardly go anywhere, however I do all of the web work for all the sites. I really will need to figure out a way to keep up my marketing/maintenance while traveling.

    I do keep my folders in the C:\MyDocument\BlueVoda and no telling what my wife did when she installed it on her pc...

    Do you think it would work remotely? PC anywhere or a program like it?

    I will try a few things out and mybe even try the remote storage.

    A few years ago I had to go back and forth to work and work at both locations.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Hi Kortia,

    How about a laptop? Hehe... Wouldn't that solve the issue?
    If you want a mini laptop (might even fit in your pouch), you should try mini HP or mini ****... They work fine... Or if you really need a desktop, try the DELL Hybrid, it's has the similar size as Mac mini..

    After that, you'll just need to borrow a monitor. However, I'll still prefer a laptop..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Hi Kortia,

    Your windows allow you to set up a home network.
    Once your network is setup you can connect to your home pc remotely from anywhere.

    In Control Panel select network and set up your home network.
    first you have to select system and system properties you select remote and check the box for remote assistance then go advance and check the box which allows your computer remotely.

    Get somebody who is computer savvy to help you set it up.

    If you decide to go this way ensure you have a good internet virus software installed. [Not the free ones].
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Spring Texas
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    A laptop yes is the best solution, but I prefer the power of a desktop.
    I run a lot of heavy programs. Especially on the SEO side. Then add photoshop,dreamweaver, bv and office all running at the same time.

    I just sold a TX1000. My wife uses a laptop and loves it. OF course it never leaves her desk.

    zuriatman I do have a network. We have high speed Cable, 20k down 3500 up and several pc's on it. I have never used remote pc network so I will look into it.
    I also build my pc's.

    I will learn how to do remote. I also use the best Antivirus 50.00 a year
    I wonder if there is a way to use off site storage? Anyone know of a good offsite storage? I use one that is not all that great.
    Thanks for your help!
    Last edited by kortia; 05-02-2009 at 08:37 PM. Reason: typos :)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kauai, HI
    Posts
    1,303

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Reverse the fan and you can keep your coffee warm.

    "Carbonite" is highly spoken of around here, offsite storage-wize.
    CLAMcentral.com Children's Ministry resources
    CLAMcentral's Projects Blog
    CLAMbakeonline.com Family Fun

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Shelby, NC 28150
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    THHATTS AWESOME...Coffee warm... lol :)

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Spring Texas
    Posts
    132

    Cool Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    I had to get that actually, I have a major dust problem and My Nvidia card and all the fans/CPU get caked in 3 days. I have to keep a compressor near it to blow it out all the time.

    Hard wood floors on the way ;)

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default HEPL ME, PLZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzz

    How much ram does a Vista Home Premium use?

    My new PC runs on

    Intel (R) Core (TM)2 Quad CPU Q8400 @ 2.66GHz 2.67GHz

    4.00 GB Ram

    320 GB Disk

    64 Bit Operating System

    My Problem is

    I installed an Adobe Photo Deluxe 4.0 [Twain Compliant] software which came with my Epson Scanner.

    Everytime I tried to launch the Photo program my computer keeps on telling me "Not enough Ram to launch program".

    My PC is running on 32Bit at the moment.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    in the now :)
    Posts
    2,184

    Cool Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    Hi,
    I too have Vista HP & with 32 bit you get 4gb RAM - "officially" - but you can never use all of that because some is needed for hardware etc. Usually you can count on 3.1 - 3.2gb's. To check your own system do the following:

    First go to "My Computer" located on the desktop or in the start
    menu.... then right click and click properties and in one of the columns it
    will show your processor speed and RAM installed on your system

    If that's not enough for your Adobe software then................
    david
    Never measure the height of the mountain you're climbing. At the summit, look back and see how small it really is!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: If my computer crashes I lose everything ?

    "I installed an Adobe Photo Deluxe 4.0 [Twain Compliant] software which came with my Epson Scanner."

    I am running Vista X64.

    Your Adobe Photo Deluxe 4.0 software is a relic and cannot be installed and used with a 32 bit OS.

    You will need to buy a new 32bit scanner like the Canon 4400F which comes with an Arcsoft [twain complaint] Photo Studio 5.0 specially created for Canon which has much more advance capabilities.

    Or you can buy Corel PaintShop Pro X2 which is just as good as Photoshop 7.0 and much cheaper.

    Sad to say whoever wants to change to Vista or Win 7 must be prepared to buy new software to use. All the XP versions will not work with X64 versions of Vista or Win 7.

    If you dont! You will be missing out with all the latest advancements.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •