Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: How do you automate Forum Ranks
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Hi,

    Can anyone tell me how to automate Forum Ranks in phpBB3 instead of
    assigning the ranks manually?

    Thanks.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Calling Alien Dude this is an interstellar transmission..........!

    We are from a friendly planet.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    X marks the spot
    Posts
    8,332

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    You assign ranks in the admin area under users.. i think it is..and you set the rank to display to so many posts. Once they post the max you set their rank will auto change.

    Karen

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Hi Karen,

    Under users, where you select the username and then assign the rank is tantamount to assign the rank manually.

    How do you get the forum to assign the ranks automatically to a member
    every time he attains a targeted number of post?

    Under which headings does this function come under. I cant find it under Ranks nor Under Manage Users.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Go to... Admin panel>Users and groups>manage ranks... There you may name the rank title and input the minimum amout of post a member needs to post in order to attain that rank.
    Hope it helps.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Is there a way to set it up in phpbb so that as a users rank climbs, they are able to do more things? I want to set it up so that when a user hits the second rank they can use an avatar, when they hit the third rank they can use a signature, and so forth. Is there a way to automate this??

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    X marks the spot
    Posts
    8,332

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Yes.. you have to set the permissions for it. I dont remember exactly whre it is in phpbb, but.. i believe its user permissions that you can edit by rank.

    Karen

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Does nayone know for sure where it is? I couldnt find it under users' permissions, and Ilooked around and still cant find it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Quote Originally Posted by GreenSpeed View Post
    Is there a way to set it up in phpbb so that as a users rank climbs, they are able to do more things? I want to set it up so that when a user hits the second rank they can use an avatar, when they hit the third rank they can use a signature, and so forth. Is there a way to automate this??



    I dont think it can be done the way you want as explained above.

    Automation of ranks should remain strictly promotion in ranks.

    What they are eligible for after reaching a targeted post should be in the form of a seperate announcement explaining what is required to the users,
    similar to the one in VodaTalk explaining the ranking system employed.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    X marks the spot
    Posts
    8,332

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Quote Originally Posted by GreenSpeed View Post
    Does nayone know for sure where it is? I couldnt find it under users' permissions, and Ilooked around and still cant find it
    Permissions for everything is listed somewhere.. and im pretty sure. that rank can have permissions set for it as well... and what they can have access too.. and the rooms they can access. If you cant find it.. check the phpbb forum.. and maybe it was an addon we had that did this.. been over 3 years since i administered a phpbb forum on a regular basis.

    Karen

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)



  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    2,116

    Default Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    I'm pretty sure you will need an addon to do this. While you can set ranks to change based on post count, phpbb3 by default doesn't have permissions based on rank, nor do they have usergroups based on post count (Usergroups have the permissions, that is what would have to change as your users post).

    Register/Login Script
    Do you use a Password Protected Directory? Need a way to allow users to make their own account, try my .htaccess Login Script

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Talking Re: How do you automate Forum Ranks

    Quote Originally Posted by Watdaflip View Post
    I'm pretty sure you will need an addon to do this. While you can set ranks to change based on post count, phpbb3 by default doesn't have permissions based on rank, nor do they have usergroups based on post count (Usergroups have the permissions, that is what would have to change as your users post).

    Hi watdaflip.

    Do you know where I can obtain this add-on?

    Thanks.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •