Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: opening browser in new tab
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    170

    Default opening browser in new tab

    Hi there

    www.subeagle.com

    Not sure if this is the right forum for this but I can't find anything else more appropriate. I have links in my site that opens a new instance of the browser (popup). What I want to do is open the new window in a tab of the opened browser. Can someone point me in the right directions?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: opening browser in new tab

    Hi millie,

    This should be in the computer forum.

    It is a browser setting. You can go to options and select tag browsing.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    X marks the spot
    Posts
    8,332

    Default Re: opening browser in new tab

    Quote Originally Posted by millie View Post
    Hi there

    www.subeagle.com

    Not sure if this is the right forum for this but I can't find anything else more appropriate. I have links in my site that opens a new instance of the browser (popup). What I want to do is open the new window in a tab of the opened browser. Can someone point me in the right directions?

    Thanks
    The tab setting is a browser setting. You can command it to open in a new window and if the user has set up their tabs in ie and firefox it will open a new tab instead of a seperate browser window.

    Karen

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    170

    Default Re: opening browser in new tab

    Hi Zuriatman and Karen

    Thanks for the reply. Karen, when I test using FF in my machine, and I click on any of my links that is supposed to open in a new window (tick on popup), a new instance of FF is opened. To make sure that it is not FF, I tried following a link from other sites and they open in a new tab. You can test this by clicking on "What's it all about" link, and then clicking on any of links on the right side of the window (Augusta, Royal and Ancient, etc.) Meanwhile, I shall hunt in the computer forum.

    Thanks

    Millie

    www.subeagle.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Gran Canaria
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: opening browser in new tab

    Hi Millie,

    working fine here. Clicked on most of ur links and they open in a new tab in my FF. No pop-up and no new windows

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    2,116

    Default Re: opening browser in new tab

    As Karen already stated, it's a browser setting that will have a link with target set as _blank to open in a new tab instead of a new window.

    If a browser is not configured to do this, it will open in a new window as intended.

    There is no way for the website to specify if a page should open in a tab instead of an entire new window. Only the user or the settings on their browser can effect this.

    Register/Login Script
    Do you use a Password Protected Directory? Need a way to allow users to make their own account, try my .htaccess Login Script

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    477

    Arrow Re: opening browser in new tab

    When new browsers support CSS3, we will have the ability to tab link.

    Take a look at this

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Gran Canaria
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: opening browser in new tab

    Quote Originally Posted by Watdaflip View Post
    As Karen already stated, it's a browser setting that will have a link with target set as _blank to open in a new tab instead of a new window.

    If a browser is not configured to do this, it will open in a new window as intended.

    There is no way for the website to specify if a page should open in a tab instead of an entire new window. Only the user or the settings on their browser can effect this.
    Sorry Watdaflip, I maybe I misunderstood her question; thought she was asking how 2 get the links 2 open in a window/tab instead of a pop-up window.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    170

    Default Re: opening browser in new tab

    Hello all

    thank you for the replies. All of you understood my issues correctly. I now have a better understanding of what may be wrong. Thank you Travlin for confirming that all the links open in tabs. I may be issues with my FF as subeagle links open in new ff instance while links from others open in tabs. Thanks for the _blank, I shall try this as all my targets are _self.

    Much appreciated to all of you

    Cheers

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •