Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: FTP Site Page Set-up
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    12

    Cool FTP Site Page Set-up

    WE are currently using our FTP site howerver we are encountering a few issues in accessing the site.
    1. When ftp://ftp.wilprojects.biz is typed, we are direected into a WEB page and to access the FTP site, we need to click page and then click opent FTP on Windows explorer, which is fine if the Client knows the process. I have seen some FTP site that when opened, it provides intruction on how to. How do we set up this page?

    2. Then, before it opens the FTP site, a pops up FTP Folder Error window appears, which is a major issue for us because this is where our Client stops and ring us for assistane. HOw do we get rid of this pop up erroe window?

    3. After going through step 2, we then arrive to a FTP site which does not have a log-in window, where Clients are unfamiliar, they again ring for assisnce. How do we then set-up this log-in box for our Client use.

    PLease help as we are currently in the middle of a big project and Client assistance is becoming handful for us to deall with.

    Thanks.

    www.wilprojects.biz
    ID# 33965

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mallorca, Spain
    Posts
    6,294

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Hi David, Im not sure what you meant by using www.wilprojects.biz? we Use www to access the web site, but sure how the same can access FTP site?

    PLease more info. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Is your site on Voda Servers or being hosted elsewhere?
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Hi Zuriatman,

    Yes my site is with VODA Server.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    CAn anyone assist please???!!!! we are quite desperate at tis stage.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Talking Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Quote Originally Posted by davidundalicia View Post
    Why are you not just using www.wilprojects.biz for client access ?

    everything is working OK THAT WAY..............
    David has already answered your question and I have been to your site which looks like everything is AOK.

    What is this fad for FTP???????????????

    Build your pages with BlueVoda and Publish it using BlueVoda
    and forget about the FTP site or what ever it is!
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    I dont know what you guys are on about. No fad about FTP. I need the FTP site to upload huge ZIP files so my CLient can access and download it from our FTP site as sending it by eamil will not cut it!!!! . I dont have issues on our web site. its working properly and doing what its suppose to. MY question is about FTP site, our File transfer Protocol which is provide by Voda HOst along with the WEB site? Are you guys familiar with this????? I need to be working properly so i can upload our file which our Client can access and use for whatever exchange of information we need to do for our businness. Zuriatmen, if you are familiar with FTP site, maybe its best not to engage yourself in the forum as yuou are not helping at all but merely making it worse.

    Thanks.

    For anyone who are familiar witht File transfer Protocal, not WWW, please assists.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Quote: "I need the FTP site to upload huge ZIP files so my CLient can access and download it from our FTP site as sending it by email will not cut it!!!! . "

    Then you should have said so in the first place that you are using the FTP to upload large Zip files.

    Download a new BlueVoda and reinstall which should reset your Blue FTP.

    You can access your FTP from the top tool bar under Tools. Dont forget to reset your uploading to a much longer period instead of the default time.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Thanks.

    I dont have issues accessing FTP manger from BlueVoda. I can access and upload no probelem. My issues are when our client access the site:

    MY issues when client access are as follows:

    1. When ftp://ftp.wilprojects.biz is typed, they are directed into a WEB page and to access the FTP site, they need to click page and then click opent FTP on Windows explorer, which is fine if the Client knows the process, if not, then they lost the as the page will open to this message "
    "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage"

    I have seen some FTP site that when opened, it provides intruction on how to. MY question is: How do we set up this page?

    2. Then, before it opens the FTP site, a pops up FTP Folder Error window appears, which is a major issue for us because this is where our Client stops and ring us for assistane. My questio HOw do we get rid of this pop up error window?

    3. After going through step 2, we then arrive to a FTP site which does not have a log-in window, where Clients are unfamiliar, they again ring for assisnce.Question? How do we then set-up this log-in box for our Client use to access the site and finally dowload files we uploaded?

    PLease help as we are currently in the middle of a big project and Client assistance is becoming handful for us to deall with.

    Thanks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,026

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    As Far as I know the Ftp in cPanel is only for your use alone and not open to public.

    The url you provided in an invalid url. You have also given your ftp url as a sub-domain?

    My advice is to submit a support ticket and request VH's help
    on whether they can help you set up the FTP Download site for your clients.

    2nd Option:

    Post your request here if you are willing to pay for somebody to set it up for you.

    http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/fre...-projects.html

    3rd. Option:

    Use this and solve your problem immediately.
    www.siapamoyanganda.com/
    Malaysian Family Tree Website From the
    State of Johor.

    HAPPY ARE THOSE WHO DREAM DREAMS AND ARE READY TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THEM COME TRUE.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Thanks. I actully sent a support ticket and long time waiting for assistance. I just dont know how long does it take before support ticket was actully attented as i have been wating for about a week now, hence i tried the forum

    Anyway, I appreciate the time. Thanks.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    St L MO
    Posts
    2,613

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Why not load the files to a password protected directory in your main domain and forget about the FTP?
    You can have a password protected directory for every client.
    What kind of files are being transferred?

    Here's a quick example. This took me apprx 3 minutes and this was the first time I have created a password protected directory.

    usmc-trw.com/1-5-10

    Username = admin
    Password = S1ut_RDOVsQG
    CarbonTerry
    Semper Fi
    Still green...still mean......just not as lean

    Red Hawk Archery
    Zone 5 Photo
    My USMC

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Download a FTP server. guildftpd works fine, and it's freeware. Search for it, it should be the first result, you need to set permission to specific users or Anybody if you want everybody to ftp your site. Don't forget to choose the authentication (read, write, execute, etc.) for your user it is easy to open the ftp site in windows explorer by going to the "Page" tab on the tool bar and clicking on "Open FTP Site in Windows Explorer" BUT ... The question still remains
    "Bernard Cheah [MVP]" wrote:
    * IE take make some changes for ftp access and it is recommended to use
    * Windows Explorer rather than IE for ftp access.
    All the above need to set at FTP service properties.

    Regards,

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Quote Originally Posted by CarbonTerry View Post
    Why not load the files to a password protected directory in your main domain and forget about the FTP?
    You can have a password protected directory for every client.
    What kind of files are being transferred?

    Here's a quick example. This took me apprx 3 minutes and this was the first time I have created a password protected directory.

    usmc-trw.com/1-5-10

    Username = admin
    Password = S1ut_RDOVsQG
    Hi thanks. can you give me step-by-step instruction in creating a pasword protected directory?

    Very much appreciated.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    St L MO
    Posts
    2,613

    Default Re: FTP Site Page Set-up

    Go into your Cpanel, click on the Password Protect Directories icon.
    There is a tutorial there.
    CarbonTerry
    Semper Fi
    Still green...still mean......just not as lean

    Red Hawk Archery
    Zone 5 Photo
    My USMC

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •