Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do change from Blue Voda to Joomla?
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Question How do change from Blue Voda to Joomla?

    Hello everybody,
    I have a web site, www.montecarlotransactions.com, designed with BlueVoda, and I have redesigned the site in Joomla. I have Joomla uploaded and site designed in a subdirectory: www.montecarlotransactions.com/joomla. They are both published and available. However, the BlueVoda site is what people see when they visit my site.

    The question is, how do I get the Joomla site to be the one (default) that people see and not the BV site? Is it a matter of Un-Publishing the BV site? And do I do that by deleting all the associated BV files from the file manager? Or do I need to delete everything, re upload Joomla and re design all again?

    Thanks in advance for your valuable help
    Giorgio

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: How do change from Blue Voda to Joomla?

    Normally, if you want to use Joomla, you would have to install Joomla in the main (rrot) directory, which is "public_html"

    What you can do now, to avoid further work, is this:

    Go in CPanel, and set a 301 redirect from the main site "montecarlotransactions.com" to http://www.montecarlotransactions.com/joomla

    You should also delete all files from public_html.
    Last, create in BV an index page which should be blank, with a redirect to http://www.montecarlotransactions.com/joomla

    You can set the BV index page redirect in "Page Properties-> Miscellaneous -> Redirect with 0 Delay
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Cool Re: How do change from Blue Voda to Joomla?

    Hi Navaldesign,
    Thanks a lot for your reply. It seems to be something very simple. However, don't you think it is better to go for a complete change? (Even though it means more work). Should I do the following:
    In CP delete all the files in < public_html > and the MySql (data base)
    Create a new data base and reupload Joomla through Fantastico and from there reupload all the content.
    As you can see I am not a hi-tech people. Would you tell me if this is correct? Thanks again for your advice.
    Kind regards.
    Giorgio

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: How do change from Blue Voda to Joomla?

    You asked for the easier way, and that's what I answered you.

    If you go your way, take a DB dump so you will have the content to upload after the new installation (otherwise, you will have no content to upload)
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: How do change from Blue Voda to Joomla?

    You are right. Then if I go to CP and setup a redirection from: <mct.com> to <.../joomla>; Delete all files from <piblic_html>
    As for the index page (blank). When it is done, should I upload it to de main directory <public_html> or where else it has to be.

    On the other hand, what do you mean by <take a DB dump>? Do you mean making a full back up from the entire web site or only from de data base I created for Joomla and reupload this DB again to the web site?
    Thanks again for your valuable advice.
    Kind regards,
    Giorgio

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: How do change from Blue Voda to Joomla?

    The DB dump is a database content backup that you take from CPanel, -> PHP MyAdmin, select the Database -> Export and Save as File. This will result in downloading a .sql file with the DB content.

    The blank index page should be uploaded in the public_html.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: How do change from Blue Voda to Joomla?

    Hello Navaldesign,
    I have just done the <301 redirect> that you suggested and without any further action the web site is working. However, in order to complete the task it remains to be done: the deletion of the files in the <public_html> directory and the upload of the blank web page (I have created it and named it <index> or should I use the full url of the web site.
    Thanks again for your help.
    Kind regards,
    Giorgio

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    12,080

    Default Re: How do change from Blue Voda to Joomla?

    You can create a blank "index" page with BlueVoda, set the redirect in Page Properties, Miscelaneous, and publish it through BV.

    Delete other files in public_html, just in case someone overides the redirect.
    Navaldesign
    Logger Lite: Low Cost, Customizable, multifeatured Login script
    Instant Download Cart: a Powerfull, Customized, in site, DB driven, e-products Cart
    DBTechnosystems.com Forms, Databases, Shopping Carts, Instant Download Carts, Loggin Systems and more....
    Advanced BlueVoda Form Processor : No coding form processor! Just install and use! Now with built in CAPTCHA!


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •