Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Did I do this right?
      
   

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    59

    Default Did I do this right?

    I wanted to know if I added background music to my site the correct way. I found a wav file that i liked and downloaded it to my public folder via BlueFTP. Then I clicked pages properties and added that file to background music. Then I opened a windows media player box and put the file in that properties with a check next to autostart and loop and hide. is thsi right? www.goldenleaf-lighting.com/projects.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    Also I find that it make the page load slower. Anything to change that?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    4,193

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    Quote Originally Posted by goldenleaf
    I wanted to know if I added background music to my site the correct way. I found a wav file that i liked and downloaded it to my public folder via BlueFTP. Then I clicked pages properties and added that file to background music. Then I opened a windows media player box and put the file in that properties with a check next to autostart and loop and hide. is thsi right? www.goldenleaf-lighting.com/projects.html
    It works! So yes you have done it correctly. It's a pretty piece of music too. The loading speed is slow and the music kicks in a little at a time which sounds a little strange. A tip I have picked up on these pages might help. Some people don't like music on a website (people viewing at work etc..) So maybe one choice might be to not use auto start but allow the visitor to choose to play the music. That might help your loading time as all the music downloaded before the graphic which may also turn visitors away. Just a thought....

    VodaHost

    Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

    ------------------------

    Top 3 Best Sellers

    Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

    Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

    Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    Thanks for the reply... i had that idea too but... i am still learning so i am not sure how to make music optional and also i though that it wouldnt be ok only on a picture gallery page. I dunno what do ya think? In the mean time I am going to try to figure out the option thing...thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    Is there any way to only be able to turn the background music off or on by only haveing a link... instead of the windows media player or quicktime bar showing?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    58

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    I'm afraid I can't hear any of the wav Patrick apart from two or three notes of the first bar.

    Mary

    http://www.huntertheatrearts.co.uk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    Hmmmm really? Well I am still working on it, but it plays fine on all the computers I check so far...I don't know if the way I added the music to my site is the correct way to play backgroiund music. do you know?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    58

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    I've tried again and still can't hear anything apart from enough to know that it's an orchestration? If everyone else can hear it I shouldn't worry, it's more than likely that I'm harbouring some gremlin!!!
    I only thought to let you know because Amanda mentioned the music 'kicking in a little at a time'

    I'm still busy working on this myself but if it's any help
    I save the wav into BV from the music program that I'm working in, then from page properties I go into background and then select the required file.

    Mary

    http://huntertheatrearts.co.uk.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    North Idaho/ Middle of nowhere
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    Hate to say it by my computer is low enough on ram that your music slowwed me down enough that I gave up. Sorry. I want more ram for mothers day!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    On another thread somebody said to right click page propertiues and add the background music that way, but that does not work for some reason. Anybody know why?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    2,116

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    With php, you can have it set to where you click the link and it will reload the page with the music playing, and click a link on the page and it will reload with the music off. If you want to do it without page reloading I would think it would be possible with javascript (I don't know enough javascript to say so or not)

    Also...
    Quote Originally Posted by OhS****
    I want more ram for mothers day!!
    I wish it was that easy for me....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Did I do this right?

    Can anybody give directions on how to do it both ways, I would like to learn it and also see what I like?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •